

Ashburton District Council Governance Structure Appointments to Committees and Organisations 2022-25

[Adopted by Council 27/10/22] Updated 17/04/24

STANDING CO	OMMITTEE		
Audit and Ris	sk Committee	Executive Co	mmittee
Chair	Russell Ellis	Mayor	Neil Brown
Deputy Chair	Leen Braam	Deputy Mayor	Liz McMillan
Members	Carolyn Cameron	Councillors	Braam, Cameron &

Council Activity Briefings
Chairperson
Deputy Mayor Liz McMillan

Liz McMillan
Richard Wilson
+ external appointee
Mayor ex officio

Appointments to other committees, organisations and sub-ordinate decision-making bodies

Ashburton Airport Authority

Crs Leen Braam, Lynette Lovett and Rob Mackle

Ashburton District Road Safety Co-ordinating Committee

Crs Liz McMillan (Chair), Phill Hooper and Richard Wilson

Ashburton Library and Civic Centre Project Control Group

Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Crs Leen Braam and Russell Ellis. Membership of this Group includes the Chief Executive (Chair).

Ashburton Resettlement Group

Crs Carolyn Cameron (Chair) & Liz McMillan

Biodiversity Advisory Group

Crs Leen Braam (Chair), Lynette Lovett and Richard Wilson

Community Road Reference Group

Crs Carolyn Cameron (Chair), Rob Mackle, Tony Todd and Richard Wilson

Creative Communities Assessment Committee Reports to Creative Communities NZ

Crs Leen Braam and Tony Todd

Hakatere Reserve Working Group [17/04/24]

Crs Richard Wilson (Chair), Leen Braam, Russell Ellis (alternate), Lynette Lovett and Tony Todd

Heritage Mid Canterbury Working Group

Crs Carolyn Cameron (Chair) and Tony Todd

[Membership of this group includes a community representative and a representative each from Historic Places Mid Canterbury and Ashburton Museum & Historical Society]

Lake Clearwater Coach Ban Working Group [6/12/23]

Crs Liz McMillan (Chair) and Leen Braam

[Membership of this group includes two representative from the Lake Clearwater Hut Holders Association and two representatives from coach tour companies]

Methven Community Board

Crs Liz McMillan and Rob Mackle

Mid Canterbury Rural Support Trust

Cr Rob Mackle [7/06/23]

Reserve Classification Review Hearing Panel [17/04/24]

Crs Liz McMillan (Chair), Leen Braam, Carolyn Cameron and Richard Wilson

Safer Mid Canterbury Board

Crs Liz McMillan and Tony Todd

[Includes Safe Communities Steering Group and Mid Canterbury Community Vehicle Trust]

Total Mobility

Cr Tony Todd

Council appointments to community organisations

Electricity Ashburton Shareholders Committee	External appointees (x3) [Anne Marett & Tony Potts – until August 2024 and David Ward – until August 2025]
Hekeao-Hinds Water Enhancement Trust	Mayor
Plains Museum Trust	External appointees (x2) [Stefan van Vliet & Alden Thomas until October 2025]
Regional Event Funding Committee	Council appointee (Cr Hooper) [1/02/23]
Mid Canterbury Rural Support Trust	Council appointee (Cr Mackle)
Safer Ashburton District	Council appointee (Crs McMillan & Todd)
Seniors Centre	Council appointee (Cr Ellis)
Waitaha PHO Board	External appointee (x1) [David Matthews] 20/09/23

Council Controlled Organisations (CCOs) and Shareholding

Ashburton Community Water Trust	Mayor	
Ashburton Contracting Limited (Directors)	[Alister Lilley (C) and Craig Stewart (to 2026) [20/09/23],	
	Andrew Barlass, Darin Cusack & Ross Pickworth (to 2025)]	
Eastfield Investments Liaison	Mayor, Deputy Mayor & GM Business Support	
Rangitata Diversion Race Management Limited	Mayor (Cr Wilson alternate)	
(RDRML)		
RDRML Remuneration Subcommittee	Cr McMillan	

Joint Committees (with other Authorities)

Biodiversity Champions Group	Cr Wilson [7/12/22]	
Canterbury Regional Civil Defence Emergency	Mayor (Cr Lovett alternate)	
Management Group		
Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee	Deputy Mayor (Mayor alternate)	
Canterbury Regional Land Transport Committee	Mayor (Deputy Mayor alternate)	
Canterbury Waste Joint Committee	Deputy Mayor (Mayor alternate)	
Canterbury Biodiversity Strategy Review	Crs Leen Braam and Richard Wilson [3/04/24]	
Central Biodiversity Advisory Group	Cr Leen Braam [1/03/23]	
Climate Change Action Planning Reference Group	Cr McMillan [7/12/22]	
Road Safety Co-ordinating Committee	Council appointees (Crs McMillan, Hooper & Wilson)	
Total Mobility Committee	Council appointee (Cr Todd)	
Water Management Zone Committee	Council appointee (Cr Wilson) [1/02/23]	
	Community reps: B Thomas & G de Spa, C Allen,	
	A Cushnie, Clare Buchanan, Adi Avnit, Sidneii Teixeira	
Wakanui Working Group	Cr Lovett	

Memorial Hall Boards and Reserve Boards

Alford Forest Reserve	Cr Liz McMillan	Pendarves Reserve	Cr Lynette Lovett
Chertsey Reserve	Cr Lynette Lovett	Rakaia Reserve	Cr Lynette Lovett
Dorie Reserve	Cr Lynette Lovett	Ruapuna Reserve	Cr Rob Mackle
Ealing Reserve	Cr Richard Wilson	Seafield Reserve	Cr Lynette Lovett
Greenstreet Reserve	Cr Carolyn Cameron	Tinwald Reserve	Cr Phill Hooper
Highbank Reserve	Cr Liz McMillan	Lagmhor Westerfield Hall	Cr Leen Braam
Hinds Reserve	Cr Richard Wilson	Mayfield Hall	Cr Rob Mackle
Mayfield Reserve	Cr Rob Mackle	Mt Hutt Memorial Hall	Cr Rob Mackle
Methven Reserve	Cr Liz McMillan	Rakaia Hall	Cr Lynette Lovett
Mt Somers Reserve	Cr Leen Braam	Tinwald Hall	Cr Carolyn Cameron

Environment Canterbury River Rating Districts

Ashburton Hinds Drainage	Cr Richard Wilson	Lower Rakaia River	Mayor Neil Brown
Ashburton Rivers	Cr Rob Mackle	Mt Harding Creek	Cr Liz McMillan
Ashburton Town Stopbanks	Cr Leen Braam	Rakaia Double Hill	Cr Liz McMillan
Cleardale (Rakaia Gorge)	Cr Liz McMillan	Staveley Stormwater Channel	Cr Rob Mackle
Dry Creek	Cr Liz McMillan	Upper Hinds River	Cr Richard Wilson
Lower Hinds River	Cr Wilson		