PUBLIC NOTICE

Representation Review Final Proposal

Final proposal for representation arrangements for the 2025 local elections

Submissions

On 7 August 2024 the Ashburton District Council considered the submissions received on its initial proposal regarding the representation arrangements for the Council and its constituent community boards to apply for the local elections to be held on 11 October 2025.

The Council received 14 submissions on its proposal. Six submissions were in favour of the Council's proposal. Eight submissions contained objections to various elements of the proposal, as follows:

- six submitters objected to the reduction of Methven Community Board members (proposed total from 7 to 6).
- one submitter suggested a different extension of the Methven Community Board boundary (extended either along both sides of Mt Hutt Station Rd past Holmes Road, or neither side and only extend to include the golf course and up to Holmes Road).
- one submitter mentioned that while they supported the proposal, their second preference was to reduce the Ashburton Ward councillors to three, while retaining the two Councillors for each of the Western and Eastern Wards.

Final proposal

Having considered all of the objections, the Council resolved to adopt its initial proposal as the Council's final proposal on 4 September 2024, subject to the following amendments:

• the Methven Community Board membership will remain at five elected members plus two appointed members (seven total).

The Council considers this change to be appropriate for the following reasons:

- the total of seven members is currently working well
- more members allows for a more diverse range of views, skills and experience
- the Methven Community Board boundary is extending and more people will be represented
- the Methven population is growing.

The Council rejected the other matters raised in objections for the following reasons:

- the suggestion of amendments to the Methven Community Board boundary was rejected because there was no clear reasoning provided for these suggestions and Council considers the proposal to appropriately cover the community of interest and those properties that receive a benefit from the Methven Community Board. Any changes made to the boundaries needed to coincide with Statistics NZ meshblock boundaries under the Local Electoral Act.
- the suggestion to retain two councillors for each Western and Eastern Ward and to reduce the Ashburton Ward councillors to three was rejected because this does not meet the population to member ratio requirement (+/- 10% rule) and Council considered that this would not provide fair representation.

Therefore the final proposal is as follows.



Council Representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise nine members elected from three wards, and the Mayor. The three wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Ward	Communities of Interest
Ashburton Ward	The Ashburton Ward includes the commercial and urban residential area of Ashburton, as well as the residential Lake Hood area. Lake Hood residents share commonalities with Ashburton urban residents, such as a shared rate for urban amenities.
Eastern Ward	The Eastern Ward includes the townships of Hinds and Rakaia as well as several other rural settlements such as Chertsey and Hakatere. The Eastern Ward borders the coast and as such coastal areas are likely to face common issues related to services and water supply.
Western Ward	The Western Ward includes the communities of Methven, Mount Somers and Mayfield as well as smaller rural settlements such as Staveley. These communities share commonalities given their proximity to the Southern Alps, and therefore have a similar climate and suitability for different land use. These communities are likely to face common issues related to services and water supply.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population	Members	Ratio
Ashburton Ward	21,220	5	4,244
Eastern Ward	7,640	2	3,820
Western Ward	7,860	2	3,930
Total	36,720	9	4,080

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 4,080 +/- 10% (3,672 to 4,488), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

None of the proposed wards fall outside the stipulated range.

Community Board Representation

It is proposed that the following community board be elected:

Community Board	Area of Community
Methven Community Board	Covering Methven Township

Methven Community Board

The Methven Community Board will elect five members. It will not be subdivided for electoral purposes. The Board will have two appointed members as follows:

Community Board	Number of members from which ward
Methven Community Board	Two members appointed from the Western Ward

Appeals and objections

Any person who made a submission on the Council's initial proposal may lodge an appeal against the Council's decision in accordance with section 190 Local Electoral Act 2001. An appeal must relate to the matters raised in that person's submission.

Any person who objects to the final proposal may lodge an objection to the Council's final proposal in accordance with section 19P Local Electoral Act 2001. Any objection must identify the matters to which the objection relates.

Appeals and objections must be made in writing and must be received by Council no later than 12 October 2024.

Appeals and objections are to be forwarded to:

- Ashburton District Council
 - PO Box 94 Ashburton 7740
 - Email submissions@adc.govt.nz

Further Information

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to:

Toni Durham

Group Manager Democracy & Engagement 03 307 7879 Toni.Durham@adc.govt.nz

Hamish Riach Chief Executive 12 September 2024