PUBLIC NOTICE

Final representation arrangements - 2025 local elections

On 12 September 2024, Ashburton District Council gave public notice of its final proposal for representation arrangements to apply for the Council and its community board for the elections to be held on 11 October 2025. Notification of the right to appeal or object was also given. No appeals or objections were received in respect of the resolution, therefore the representation arrangements for Ashburton District Council's 2025 local elections will be the same as in the final proposal:

Council Representation

The Council will comprise nine members elected from three wards, and the Mayor. The three wards reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Ward	Communities of Interest
Ashburton Ward	The Ashburton Ward includes the commercial and urban residential area of Ashburton, as well as the residential Lake Hood area. Lake Hood residents share commonalities with Ashburton urban residents, such as a shared rate for urban amenities.
Eastern Ward	The Eastern Ward includes the townships of Hinds and Rakaia as well as several other rural settlements such as Chertsey and Hakatere. The Eastern Ward borders the coast and as such coastal areas are likely to face common issues related to services and water supply.
Western Ward	The Western Ward includes the communities of Methven, Mount Somers and Mayfield as well as smaller rural settlements such as Staveley. These communities share commonalities given their proximity to the Southern Alps, and therefore have a similar climate and suitability for different land use. These communities are likely to face common issues related to services and water supply.

The population that each member will represent is as follows:

Ward	Population	Members	Ratio
Ashburton Ward	21,220	5	4,244
Eastern Ward	7,640	2	3,820
Western Ward	7,860	2	3,930
Total	36,720	9	4,080

In accordance with section 19V(2), Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 4,080 + -10% (3,672 to 4,488), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise. None of the proposed wards fall outside the stipulated range.

Community Board Representation

The following community board be elected:

Community Board	Area of Community
Methven Community Board	Covering Methven Township

Methven Community Board

The Methven Community Board will elect five members. It will not be subdivided for electoral purposes. The Board will have two appointed members as follows:

Community Board	Number of members from which ward
Methven Community Board	Two members appointed from the Western Ward

Further Information

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to:

Toni Durham

Group Manager Democracy & Engagement 03 307 7879
Toni.Durham@adc.govt.nz

